Skip to content
ClinCalc Pro
Menu
Neuromuscular blocker (presynaptic) Pregnancy: BOTOX SPC §4.6: 'There are no adequate data from the use of botulinum toxin type A in pregnant women. Studies in animals have shown reproductive toxicity. The potential risk for humans is unknown. BOTOX is not recommended during pregnancy and in women of childbearing potential not using contraception.' Breast-feeding: 'There is no information on whether BOTOX is excreted in human milk. The use of BOTOX during breast-feeding cannot be recommended.' Fertility: 'There are no adequate data on the effects on fertility from the use of botulinum toxin type A in women of childbearing potential. Studies in male and female rats have shown fertility reductions.' Cross-check, US DAXXIFY §8.1 (a different product): 'There are no available data on DAXXIFY use in pregnant women... In animal reproduction studies, intramuscular administration of DAXXIFY during pregnancy resulted in adverse effects on fetal growth (decreased fetal body weight and skeletal ossification) at maternally toxic doses approximately equivalent to 40 times the maximum recommended human dose.'

Botulinum toxin type A

Brand names: Botox, Dysport, Xeomin, Bocouture

Botulinum toxin type A is an injectable neurotoxin used in neurology for focal dystonias (including cervical dystonia and blepharospasm), spasticity and chronic migraine prophylaxis.

Adult dose

Dose: BOTOX (Allergan Units) only, indication-specific. Adult focal UPPER LIMB spasticity: up to 400 Units divided among the affected muscles. Adult focal LOWER LIMB spasticity: 300 Units to 400 Units divided among up to 6 muscles. BLEPHAROSPASM / hemifacial spasm: initial 1.25 to 2.5 Units (0.05 to 0.1 ml) per site into the medial and lateral orbicularis oculi of the upper lid and the lateral orbicularis oculi of the lower lid. CERVICAL DYSTONIA: tailored per muscle, with no more than 50 Units at any one injection site, no more than 100 Units to the sternomastoid, and no more than 200 Units in total for the first course of therapy. CHRONIC MIGRAINE: 155 Units to 195 Units administered intramuscularly as 0.1 ml (5 Units) injections to 31 and up to 39 sites. OVERACTIVE BLADDER: 100 Units as 0.5 ml (5 Units) injections across 20 sites in the detrusor muscle.
Route: Intramuscular for the neurological indications (spasticity, cervical dystonia, blepharospasm/hemifacial spasm, chronic migraine); intradetrusor via a flexible or rigid cystoscope for overactive bladder. SCOPE: this record covers the BOTOX brand only and the intramuscular route this page lists first, plus the intradetrusor route; the intradermal indications the page also spans (e.g. primary axillary hyperhidrosis) fall in the part of §4.2 that was truncated out of the fetched bundle and are NOT covered.
Frequency: Spasticity (adult and paediatric): re-injection no sooner than 12 weeks after the previous injection. Blepharospasm: 'Each treatment lasts approximately three months... Normally no additional benefit is conferred by treating more frequently than every three months.' Cervical dystonia: 'Treatment intervals of less than 10 weeks are not recommended.' Chronic migraine: 'The recommended re-treatment schedule is every 12 weeks.'
maxDose IS DELIBERATELY EMPTY because the dose field above spans several indications and the SPC sets a DIFFERENT ceiling for each — a single number here would be the wrong ceiling for most readers. The per-indication maxima, verbatim from §4.2, are: ADULT UPPER LIMB SPASTICITY 'Maximum dose: 400 Units in total' (with 'When injecting the shoulder muscles in combination, the recommended maximum dose is 250 U' and 'When injecting both lumbricals and/or interossei, the recommended maximum dose is 50 U per hand'); ADULT LOWER LIMB SPASTICITY 'Maximum dose: 400 Units in total'; BLEPHAROSPASM 'The initial dose should not exceed 25 Units per eye. In the management of blepharospasm total dosing should not exceed 100 Units in total every 12 weeks' (and 'there appears to be little benefit obtainable from injecting more than 5 Units per site'); CERVICAL DYSTONIA 'No more than 50 Units should be given at any one injection site. No more than 100 Units should be given to the sternomastoid. No more than 200 Units in total should be injected for the first course of therapy, with adjustments made in subsequent courses dependent on the initial response, up to a maximum total dose of 300 Units.' CHRONIC MIGRAINE has no separate maximum line — the stated 'Total Dose Range: 155 Units to 195 Units, 31 to 39 sites' is itself the range. BRAND SAFETY, verbatim §4.2 opening line: 'Botulinum toxin units are not interchangeable from one product to another. Doses recommended in Allergan Units are different from other botulinum toxin preparations.' The page lists Botox, Dysport, Xeomin and Bocouture together — NONE of the figures here may be applied to a non-BOTOX product. GENERAL §4.2 CAVEAT: 'Generally valid optimum dose levels and number of injection sites per muscle have not been established for all indications. In these cases, individual treatment regimens should therefore be drawn up by an appropriately qualified healthcare practitioner. Optimum dose levels should be determined by titration but the recommended maximum dose should not be exceeded.' ADMINISTRATION: 'BOTOX should only be administered by an appropriately qualified healthcare practitioner with expertise in the treatment of the relevant indication and the use of the required equipment, in accordance with national guidelines.' Localisation by needle EMG guidance, nerve stimulation or ultrasound is recommended for spasticity. For cervical dystonia, 'To minimise the incidence of dysphagia, the sternomastoid should not be injected bilaterally.' For blepharospasm, 'Avoiding injection near levator palpebrae superioris may reduce the complication of ptosis. Avoiding medial lower lid injections, and thereby reducing diffusion into the inferior oblique, may reduce the complication of diplopia'; at repeat sessions 'the dose may be increased up to two-fold if the response from the initial treatment is considered insufficient - usually defined as an effect that does not last longer than two months.' For overactive bladder the reconstituted solution is 100 Units in 10 ml, injected approximately 2 mm into the detrusor, avoiding the trigone and base, 20 injections of 0.5 ml each spaced approximately 1 cm apart, followed by approximately 1 ml of sterile unpreserved normal saline 'so the full dose is delivered'; afterwards 'the saline used for bladder wall visualisation should not be drained so that the patients can demonstrate their ability to void prior to leaving the clinic.' ELDERLY (§4.2): 'Dosages for elderly patients are the same as for younger adults. Initial dosing should begin at the lowest recommended dose for the specific indication.' CROSS-REFERENCE ONLY, US label for the DIFFERENT product DAXXIFY (do NOT convert): glabellar lines 'the recommended dose is 0.1 mL (8 Units) by intramuscular injection into each of five sites, for a total dose of 40 Units'; cervical dystonia 'ranges from 125 Units to 250 Units given intramuscularly as a divided dose among affected muscles', dose adjustment 'in 50 to 75 Unit increments', administered 'no more frequently than every three months for any indication'. DAXXIFY §2.1 states its units 'are not interchangeable with other preparations of botulinum toxin products'.

Paediatric dose

Route: Intramuscular, divided among the affected muscles; 'Localisation of the involved muscles with techniques such as needle electromyographic (EMG) guidance, nerve stimulation, or ultrasound is recommended'
Frequency: 'Repeat treatment should be administered when the clinical effect of a previous injection diminishes but not more frequently than every 12 weeks'
Max: Maximum 200 Units in total per treatment session for paediatric upper limb spasticity, and 300 Units for lower limb; when treating both lower limbs, or upper and lower limbs in combination, the total must not exceed 340 Units in a 12-week interval. Weight-based ceilings apply in parallel and are quoted in the notes.
dosePerKg IS NULL ON PURPOSE — the SPC gives two DIFFERENT limb-specific per-kilogram ranges, each then sub-allocated muscle by muscle, so there is no single per-dose figure valid across the paediatric range and no figure that a weight calculator could safely multiply. Verbatim §4.2: UPPER LIMB — 'The recommended dose for treating paediatric upper limb spasticity is 3 Units/kg to 6 Units/kg body weight divided among the affected muscles', with per-muscle allocations at the 3 Units/kg level of biceps 1.5 Units/kg (maximum 50 Units, 4 sites), brachialis 1 Unit/kg (30 Units, 2 sites), brachioradialis 0.5 Units/kg (20 Units, 2 sites), flexor carpi radialis 1 Unit/kg (25 Units, 2 sites), flexor carpi ulnaris 1 Unit/kg (25 Units, 2 sites), flexor digitorum profundus 0.5 Units/kg (25 Units, 2 sites), flexor digitorum sublimis 0.5 Units/kg (25 Units, 2 sites) — each doubling at the 6 Units/kg level; and 'The total dose of BOTOX administered per treatment session in the upper limb should not exceed 6 Units/kg body weight or 200 Units, whichever is lower.' LOWER LIMB — 'The recommended dose for paediatric lower limb spasticity is 4 Units/kg to 8 Units/kg body weight divided among the affected muscles', with gastrocnemius medial head, gastrocnemius lateral head, soleus and tibialis posterior each 1 Unit/kg (maximum 37.5 Units, 2 sites) at the 4 Units/kg level and 2 Units/kg (75 Units) at the 8 Units/kg level; and 'The total dose of BOTOX administered per treatment session in the lower limb should not exceed 8 Units/kg body weight or 300 Units, whichever is lower.' COMBINED: 'When treating the upper and lower limbs in combination, the total dose should not exceed the lower of 10 Units/kg body weight or 340 Units, in a 12-week interval.' INDICATION LIMIT (§4.2): 'The safety and efficacy of BOTOX in indications other than those described for the paediatric population in section 4.1 have not been established. No recommendation on posology can be made for indications other than paediatric focal spasticity associated with cerebral palsy.' It also 'should only be administered by appropriately qualified healthcare practitioners who are experienced in the assessment and treatment of paediatric focal spasticity and as part of a structured program of rehabilitation.' AGE FLOORS listed in §4.2: focal spasticity from 2 years; blepharospasm/hemifacial spasm/idiopathic cervical dystonia from 12 years; primary hyperhidrosis of the axillae from 12 years; paediatric neurogenic detrusor overactivity 5-17 years; paediatric overactive bladder 12-17 years. Concentration is null because BOTOX is dosed in Units, not milligrams, and the reconstitution volume differs by indication. Cross-check, US DAXXIFY §8.4: 'Safety and effectiveness of DAXXIFY in patients less than 18 years of age have not been established.' Verify all paediatric dosing against a children's formulary and local specialist protocol.

Dose adjustments

Renal

Not stated — no renal-impairment dosing statement appears in any fetched section of either label (BOTOX §4.2, §4.3, §4.4, §4.6, §4.8; DAXXIFY §2, §3, §4, §5, §6, §7, §8.1, §8.4, §8.5). Verify against the full SPC before advising.

Hepatic

Not stated — no hepatic-impairment dosing statement appears in any fetched section of either label. Verify against the full SPC before advising.

Dose independently re-sourced from UK Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) via the eMC; US FDA prescribing information (openFDA / DailyMed) — cross-check; US labelling may differ from UK — clinician-reviewed. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.

Contraindications

  • Known hypersensitivity to botulinum toxin type A or to any of the excipients listed in section 6.1 (BOTOX SPC §4.3)
  • 'Presence of infection at the proposed injection site(s)' (BOTOX SPC §4.3)
  • For the management of BLADDER disorders (BOTOX SPC §4.3): 'urinary tract infection at the time of treatment'
  • For the management of BLADDER disorders (BOTOX SPC §4.3): 'acute urinary retention at the time of treatment, in patients who are not routinely catheterising'
  • For the management of BLADDER disorders (BOTOX SPC §4.3): 'patients who are not willing and/or able to initiate catheterisation post-treatment if required'
  • For the management of BLADDER disorders (BOTOX SPC §4.3): 'presence of bladder calculi'
  • Not a contraindication but an extreme-caution bar (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'BOTOX should only be used with extreme caution and under close supervision in patients with subclinical or clinical evidence of defective neuromuscular transmission e.g. myasthenia gravis or Lambert-Eaton Syndrome in patients with peripheral motor neuropathic diseases (e.g. amyotrophic lateral sclerosis or motor neuropathy) and in patients with underlying neurological disorders.'
  • Cross-check, US DAXXIFY §4 (a different product): contraindicated in 'patients with known hypersensitivity to any botulinum toxin preparation, DAXXIFY, or any of the components in the DAXXIFY formulation' and in 'the presence of infection at the proposed injection sites.'

Side effects

  • Distant spread of toxin effect (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'Side effects related to spread of toxin distant from the site of administration have been reported, sometimes resulting in death, which in some cases was associated with dysphagia, pneumonia and/or significant debility. The symptoms are consistent with the mechanism of action of botulinum toxin and have been reported hours to weeks after injection. Cases of iatrogenic botulism have been reported following injection of botulinum toxin products.'
  • Expected pharmacological effect (BOTOX SPC §4.8): 'Local muscle weakness represents the expected pharmacological action of botulinum toxin in muscle tissue. However, weakness of adjacent muscles and/or muscles remote from the site of injection has been reported.' §4.4 adds: 'Patients treated with therapeutic doses may also experience exaggerated muscle weakness.'
  • Injection-related (BOTOX SPC §4.8): 'localised pain, inflammation, paraesthesia, hypoaesthesia, tenderness, swelling/oedema, erythema, localised infection, bleeding and/or bruising have been associated with the injection. Needle-related pain and/or anxiety have resulted in vasovagal responses, including transient symptomatic hypotension and syncope. Fever and flu syndrome have also been reported after injections of botulinum toxin.'
  • Dysphagia (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'Dysphagia has also been reported following injection to sites other than the cervical musculature.'
  • Overall treatment-related event rates by indication (BOTOX SPC §4.8): 35% in blepharospasm, 28% in cervical dystonia, 8% in paediatric spasticity, 11% in primary hyperhidrosis of the axillae, 9% in adults with focal upper limb spasticity, 11% in adults with focal lower limb spasticity, 26% in overactive bladder, 32% in adults with neurogenic detrusor overactivity and 6.2% in paediatric neurogenic detrusor overactivity; in chronic migraine 'the incidence was 26% with the first treatment and declined to 11% with a second treatment'
  • Time course (BOTOX SPC §4.8): 'In general, adverse reactions occur within the first few days following injection and, while generally transient, may have a duration of several months or, in rare cases, longer.'
  • Antibody formation and overdose risk (BOTOX SPC §4.4): exceeding the recommended dosages and frequencies risks 'overdose, exaggerated muscle weakness, distant spread of toxin and the formation of neutralising antibodies'
  • Cross-check, US DAXXIFY §6 (a different product): most common reactions for glabellar lines 'headache (6%), eyelid ptosis (2%), and facial paresis (1%)'; for cervical dystonia 'headache (9%), injection site pain (8%), injection site erythema (5%), muscular weakness (5%), and upper respiratory tract infection (5%)'. Its §5.5 also warns: 'Adverse event reports have been received involving the cardiovascular system with botulinum toxin products, some with fatal outcomes.'
  • NOTE: the per-indication adverse-reaction frequency tables in BOTOX §4.8(b) were truncated at the source-fetch limit and are not reproduced here.

Monitoring

  • Warn every patient and carer to seek urgent help for toxin spread (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'Patients and caregivers should be advised to seek immediate medical advice if they experience any signs or symptoms consistent with the spread of botulinum toxin effect or if swallowing, speech or respiratory disorders arise.'
  • Do not exceed the label (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'The recommended dosages and frequencies of administration of BOTOX should not be exceeded due to the potential for overdose, exaggerated muscle weakness, distant spread of toxin and the formation of neutralising antibodies. Initial dosing in treatment naive patients should begin with the lowest recommended dose for the specific indication.'
  • Re-assess before every session (BOTOX SPC §4.4): 'Prescribers and patients should be aware that side effects can occur despite previous injections being well tolerated. Caution should therefore be exercised on the occasion of each administration.'
  • Re-titrate at re-injection (BOTOX SPC §4.2, adult upper limb spasticity): 'The degree and pattern of muscle spasticity at the time of re-injection may necessitate alterations in the dose of BOTOX and muscles to be injected. The lowest effective dose should be used.'
  • Neuromuscular comorbidity (BOTOX SPC §4.4): close supervision in myasthenia gravis, Lambert-Eaton syndrome, peripheral motor neuropathic disease and underlying neurological disorders; 'Elderly and debilitated patients should be treated with caution.'
  • Bladder indications (BOTOX SPC §4.2): 'For the patient preparation and monitoring, see section 4.4.' After injection, 'the saline used for bladder wall visualisation should not be drained so that the patients can demonstrate their ability to void prior to leaving the clinic.'
  • Response timing, to judge effect before re-dosing (BOTOX SPC §4.2): spasticity — 'Clinical improvement generally occurs within the first two weeks after injection'; blepharospasm — 'the initial effect of the injections is seen within three days and reaches a peak at one to two weeks post-treatment.'
  • Cumulative exposure across indications (US DAXXIFY §2.1, applicable principle): 'Consideration of the cumulative dose is necessary when treating adult patients... Physicians should be aware of whether patients are receiving treatment with other botulinum toxin products for other indications.'

Clinical monograph

How it works

It cleaves the SNARE protein SNAP-25 at cholinergic nerve terminals, blocking acetylcholine release and producing temporary, localised muscle relaxation.

Prescribing in practice

  • An MHRA warning highlights the risk of toxin spread beyond the injection site causing dysphagia, aspiration and breathing difficulties, which can be life-threatening, particularly in those with pre-existing neuromuscular disease.
  • Product preparations and units are NOT interchangeable, so the specific brand and its unit definition must always be specified to avoid serious dosing errors.
  • Use with caution in disorders of neuromuscular transmission such as myasthenia gravis or Eaton-Lambert syndrome, which may exaggerate the systemic effect.

Monitoring

Monitor clinically for local and distant spread of effect (notably swallowing and respiratory function) and reassess muscle tone and function before each re-treatment cycle.

Counselling the patient

  • The effect is temporary and wears off over weeks to months, requiring repeat injection.
  • Seek urgent help for difficulty swallowing, speaking or breathing after treatment.
  • Mild local weakness, bruising or ptosis near the injection site can occur.

Evidence & guidelines

Botulinum toxin type A is a NICE-recognised treatment for focal dystonias, spasticity and chronic migraine, supported by randomised trial evidence in each indication.

Reference: NICE TA260; NICE TA290; ABN spasticity; MHRA Drug Safety Update; SmPC; Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).

Related

Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.