Skip to content
ClinCalc Pro
Menu
Topical calcineurin inhibitor (TCI) Pregnancy: §4.6, verbatim — Pregnancy: 'There are no adequate data from the use of tacrolimus ointment in pregnant women. Studies in animals have shown reproductive toxicity following systemic administration (see section 5.3). The potential risk for humans is unknown. Protopic ointment should not be used during pregnancy unless clearly necessary.' Breast-feeding: 'Human data demonstrate that, after systemic administration, tacrolimus is excreted into breast milk. Although clinical data have shown that systemic exposure from application of tacrolimus ointment is low, breast-feeding during treatment with Protopic ointment is not recommended.' Fertility: 'There are no fertility data available.'

Tacrolimus (Topical)

Brand names: Protopic

A topical calcineurin inhibitor (ointment) used as a steroid-sparing treatment for moderate-to-severe atopic eczema, particularly on sensitive sites such as the face and flexures.

Adult dose

Dose: Protopic 0.1% ointment, applied as a thin layer to the affected skin (adults and adolescents 16 years of age and above)
Route: Topical (cutaneous) — thin layer to affected or commonly affected skin; may be used on any part of the body including face, neck and flexures, but not on mucous membranes and not under occlusion
Frequency: Flare treatment: twice a day until the lesion clears. Maintenance (in responders): once a day twice weekly, e.g. Monday and Thursday, with 2–3 treatment-free days between applications
Strength is pinned by the product name, so the 'thin layer' instruction is publishable: the SPC states 'Protopic is available in two strengths, Protopic 0.03% and Protopic 0.1% ointment' and assigns 0.1% to adults. FLARE TREATMENT, VERBATIM §4.2 (Adults and adolescents, 16 years of age and above): 'Treatment should be started with Protopic 0.1% twice a day and treatment should be continued until clearance of the lesion. If symptoms recur, twice daily treatment with Protopic 0.1% should be restarted. An attempt should be made to reduce the frequency of application or to use the lower strength Protopic 0.03% ointment if the clinical condition allows. Generally, improvement is seen within one week of starting treatment. If no signs of improvement are seen after two weeks of treatment, further treatment options should be considered.' MAINTENANCE, VERBATIM §4.2: 'Patients who are responding to up to 6 weeks treatment using tacrolimus ointment twice daily (lesions cleared, almost cleared or mildly affected) are suitable for maintenance treatment. […] Adult patients should use Protopic 0.1% ointment. Protopic ointment should be applied once a day twice weekly (e.g. Monday and Thursday) to areas commonly affected by atopic dermatitis to prevent progression to flares. Between applications there should be 2–3 days without Protopic treatment. After 12 months treatment, a review of the patient`s condition should be conducted by the physician and a decision taken whether to continue maintenance treatment in the absence of safety data for maintenance treatment beyond 12 months. If signs of a flare reoccur, twice daily treatment should be re-initiated.' GENERAL, VERBATIM §4.2: 'Protopic can be used for short-term and intermittent long-term treatment. Treatment should not be continuous on a long-term basis.' and 'Protopic treatment should be initiated by physicians with experience in the diagnosis and treatment of atopic dermatitis.' METHOD, VERBATIM §4.2: 'Protopic ointment should be applied as a thin layer to affected or commonly affected areas of the skin. Protopic ointment may be used on any part of the body, including face, neck and flexure areas, except on mucous membranes. Protopic ointment should not be applied under occlusion because this method of administration has not been studied in patients.' ELDERLY, VERBATIM §4.2: 'Specific studies have not been conducted in older people. However, the clinical experience available in this patient population has not shown the necessity for any dosage adjustment.' AGE BANDING CAVEAT: the SPC assigns 0.1% to 'Adults and adolescents (16 years of age and above)' and 0.03% to 'Children (2 years of age and above)'; it gives no separate 12–15 year statement beyond that split. maxDose left empty deliberately: no maximum quantity, no maximum treated body-surface area and no maximum course length is stated anywhere in the fetched sections; the nearest statement is the §4.4 principle 'It is recommended to use tacrolimus ointment at the lowest strength and the lowest frequency for the shortest duration necessary as determined by the physician's evaluation of the clinical condition', which is a principle, not a numeric ceiling.

Paediatric dose

Route: Topical (cutaneous) — thin layer of Protopic 0.03% ointment
Frequency: Flare treatment: twice a day for up to three weeks, then reduced to once a day until the lesion clears. Maintenance (in responders): once a day twice weekly, e.g. Monday and Thursday, with 2–3 treatment-free days between applications
dosePerKg and concentration are null because this is an ointment applied as a thin layer: the SPC gives no per-kilogram, per-gram, per-fingertip-unit or per-body-surface-area quantity, so there is nothing that can drive a weight calculator, and there is no mg/mL strength for an ointment. FLARE TREATMENT, VERBATIM §4.2 (Paediatric population): 'Children (2 years of age and above) should use the lower strength Protopic 0.03% ointment. Treatment should be started twice a day for up to three weeks. Afterwards the frequency of application should be reduced to once a day until clearance of the lesion (see section 4.4). Protopic ointment should not be used in children aged below 2 years until further data are available.' MAINTENANCE, VERBATIM §4.2 (Paediatric population): 'Children (2 years of age and above) should use the lower strength Protopic 0.03% ointment. Protopic ointment should be applied once a day twice weekly (e.g. Monday and Thursday) to areas commonly affected by atopic dermatitis to prevent progression to flares. Between applications there should be 2–3 days without Protopic treatment. The review of the child`s condition after 12 months treatment should include suspension of treatment to assess the need to continue this regimen and to evaluate the course of the disease.' §4.4, VERBATIM: 'Care should be exercised if applying Protopic to patients with extensive skin involvement over an extended period of time, especially in children' and 'The effect of treatment with Protopic ointment on the developing immune system of children aged below 2 years has not been established.' maxDose left empty deliberately: '0.03% strength only' is a strength/eligibility rule, not a dose ceiling, and no maximum quantity is stated. Verify any under-18 use against a children's formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing.

Dose adjustments

Renal

Not stated for the ointment — no renal-impairment dosing statement appears in any fetched section of the Protopic SPC (§4.2 including its Special populations text, §4.3, §4.4, §4.6, §4.8). The renal material in this bundle (nephrotoxicity monitoring, dose reduction) belongs to the US ORAL tacrolimus extended-release capsule label for transplantation and has deliberately not been applied to topical treatment.

Hepatic

Not stated for the ointment — no hepatic-impairment dosing statement appears in any fetched section of the Protopic SPC. The only hepatic-impairment rule in this bundle, 'Patients with severe hepatic impairment (Child-Pugh ≥ 10) may require a lower starting dosage', is from the US ORAL tacrolimus extended-release capsule label (§2.3) and does not apply to the topical ointment.

Dose independently re-sourced from UK Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) via the eMC; US FDA prescribing information (openFDA / DailyMed) — cross-check; US labelling may differ from UK — clinician-reviewed. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.

Contraindications

  • §4.3, verbatim: 'Hypersensitivity to the active substance, macrolides in general, or to any of the excipients listed in section 6.1.'
  • Not a contraindication but an age limit (§4.2, verbatim): 'Protopic ointment should not be used in children aged below 2 years until further data are available.'
  • Not a contraindication but a §4.4 bar, verbatim: 'Protopic should not be used in patients with congenital or acquired immunodeficiencies or in patients on therapy that cause immunosuppression.'
  • Not a contraindication but a §4.4 bar, verbatim: 'Protopic ointment should not be applied to lesions that are considered to be potentially malignant or pre-malignant.'
  • Not a contraindication but a §4.4 caution, verbatim: 'The use of tacrolimus ointment is not recommended in patients with a skin barrier defect, such as Netherton's syndrome, lamellar ichthyosis, generalized erythroderma, pyoderma gangrenosum or cutaneous Graft Versus Host Disease. These skin conditions may increase systemic absorption of tacrolimus.'
  • Not a contraindication but a §4.4 restriction, verbatim: 'Exposure of the skin to sunlight should be minimised and the use of ultraviolet (UV) light from a solarium, therapy with UVB or UVA in combination with psoralens (PUVA) should be avoided during use of Protopic ointment.'
  • Not a contraindication but a §4.2 administration restriction, verbatim: 'Protopic ointment should not be applied under occlusion' and it must not be applied to mucous membranes.

Side effects

  • §4.8 summary, verbatim: 'In clinical studies approximately 50% of patients experienced some type of skin irritation adverse reaction at the site of application. Burning sensation and pruritus were very common, usually mild to moderate in severity and tended to resolve within one week of starting treatment. Erythema was a common skin irritation adverse reaction. Sensation of warmth, pain, paraesthesia and rash at the site of application were also commonly observed.'
  • Very common (≥1/10), §4.8 table: application site burning; application site pruritus
  • Common (≥1/100 to <1/10), §4.8: alcohol intolerance (facial flushing or skin irritation after consumption of an alcoholic beverage); paraesthesias and dysaesthesias (hyperaesthesia, burning sensation); pruritus; application site warmth, erythema, pain, irritation, paraesthesia and rash
  • Local skin infection regardless of specific aetiology, §4.8 — 'including but not limited to: Eczema herpeticum, Folliculitis, Herpes simplex, Herpes virus infection, Kaposi's varicelliform eruption'; §4.8 also notes 'Patients may be at an increased risk of folliculitis, acne and herpes viral infections'
  • Reported during post-marketing experience (asterisked in the §4.8 table): acne, rosacea, lentigo, application site oedema, ophthalmic herpes infection, and 'Drug level increased' (increased tacrolimus blood level)
  • Uncommon, §4.4: 'Lymphadenopathy was uncommonly (0.8%) reported in clinical trials. The majority of these cases were related to infections (skin, respiratory tract, tooth) and resolved with appropriate antibiotic therapy.'
  • Maintenance (twice-weekly) treatment, §4.8: 'application site impetigo (7.7% in children) and application site infections (6.4% in children and 6.3% in adults)' occurred more frequently than in the control group
  • Paediatric population, §4.8, verbatim: 'Frequency, type and severity of adverse reactions in children are similar to those reported in adults.'
  • CAVEAT ON FREQUENCIES: the §4.8 frequency table was flattened during the fetch, so column boundaries (very common / common / uncommon / not known) are ambiguous for some rows. The frequency labels used above are taken from the unambiguous §4.8 narrative text and from asterisk footnotes; check the table itself in the SPC before quoting a frequency.

Monitoring

  • §4.2, verbatim: 'Generally, improvement is seen within one week of starting treatment. If no signs of improvement are seen after two weeks of treatment, further treatment options should be considered.'
  • §4.2 (maintenance, adults), verbatim: 'After 12 months treatment, a review of the patient`s condition should be conducted by the physician and a decision taken whether to continue maintenance treatment in the absence of safety data for maintenance treatment beyond 12 months.'
  • §4.2 (maintenance, children), verbatim: 'The review of the child`s condition after 12 months treatment should include suspension of treatment to assess the need to continue this regimen and to evaluate the course of the disease.'
  • §4.4, verbatim: 'Patients, particularly paediatric patients should be continuously evaluated during treatment with Protopic with respect to the response to treatment and the continuing need for treatment. After 12 months this evaluation should include suspension of Protopic treatment in paediatric patients.'
  • §4.4, verbatim: 'The development of any new change different from previous eczema within a treated area should be reviewed by the physician.'
  • §4.4: watch for lymphadenopathy — reported uncommonly (0.8%) in clinical trials, mostly infection-related.
  • §4.4: increased tacrolimus blood level has been reported post-marketing in patients with skin-barrier defects (Netherton's syndrome, lamellar ichthyosis, generalized erythroderma, pyoderma gangrenosum, cutaneous GvHD); §4.8 lists 'Drug level increased' as a post-marketing reaction.
  • §4.4: counsel on sun protection — 'Physicians should advise patients on appropriate sun protection methods, such as minimisation of the time in the sun, use of a sunscreen product and covering of the skin with appropriate clothing.'

Clinical monograph

How it works

Tacrolimus inhibits calcineurin within T-lymphocytes, blocking the dephosphorylation of NFAT and thereby suppressing transcription of pro-inflammatory cytokines and the cutaneous inflammatory response, without the skin-atrophy effects of corticosteroids.

Prescribing in practice

  • A transient burning or stinging sensation at the application site is common in the first days of treatment, and patients should avoid excessive natural or artificial UV exposure (including sunbeds) given a theoretical malignancy concern flagged by the MHRA.
  • It is reserved for eczema unresponsive to, or where there is a risk of harm from, conventional topical corticosteroids, and should not be applied to infected or potentially malignant skin lesions.
  • Initiation is generally by, or under the guidance of, a prescriber experienced in atopic eczema, with the lower-strength preparation used in children.

Monitoring

No routine blood monitoring is needed; review treatment response and the application site, reassessing if lesions fail to improve or appear infected.

Counselling the patient

  • Apply a thin layer to affected skin only and wash hands afterwards unless treating the hands.
  • Mild burning or itching when starting usually settles within a few days; alcohol may worsen facial flushing.
  • Protect treated skin from strong sunlight and avoid sunbeds while using it.

Evidence & guidelines

Topical tacrolimus is recommended by NICE as a second-line option for atopic eczema not controlled by topical corticosteroids, particularly for the face and neck.

Reference: NICE CG57; BAD Atopic Eczema Guidelines; Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).

Related

Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.