Skip to content
ClinCalc Pro
Menu
Biologic DMARD (TNF-alpha inhibitor, monoclonal antibody) Pregnancy: UK SPC §4.6: women of childbearing potential should consider adequate contraception to prevent pregnancy and continue it for at least five months after the last dose. Approximately 2,100 prospectively collected pregnancies exposed to adalimumab resulting in live birth with known outcomes, including more than 1,500 exposed during the first trimester, do not indicate an increase in the rate of malformation in the newborn. In a developmental toxicity study in monkeys there was no indication of maternal toxicity, embryotoxicity or teratogenicity. 'Due to its inhibition of TNF-alpha, adalimumab administered during pregnancy could affect normal immune responses in the newborn... [it] should only be used during pregnancy if clearly needed.' Adalimumab may cross the placenta into the serum of infants born to women treated during pregnancy and those infants may be at increased risk for infection: 'Administration of live vaccines (e.g. BCG vaccine) to infants exposed to adalimumab in utero is not recommended for 5 months following the mother's last adalimumab injection during pregnancy.' BREAST-FEEDING: adalimumab is excreted in breast milk at very low concentrations (0.1% to 1% of maternal serum level); given orally, IgG proteins undergo intestinal proteolysis and have poor bioavailability, and no effects on the breast-fed newborn/infant are anticipated (the §4.6 text was truncated at the source-fetch limit part-way through this sentence).

Adalimumab

Brand names: Humira, Amgevita, Hyrimoz (biosimilars)

Adalimumab is a fully human anti-tumour necrosis factor (TNF) monoclonal antibody and biologic disease-modifying antirheumatic drug used in rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis and other immune-mediated conditions.

Adult dose

Dose: Rheumatoid arthritis, psoriatic arthritis, ankylosing spondylitis and axial spondyloarthritis without radiographic evidence of AS: 40 mg every other week as a single dose by subcutaneous injection
Route: Subcutaneous injection
Frequency: Every other week (every 2 weeks)
VERBATIM UK SPC §4.2 (RA): 'The recommended dose of AMGEVITA for adult patients with rheumatoid arthritis is 40 mg adalimumab administered every other week as a single dose via subcutaneous injection. Methotrexate should be continued during treatment with AMGEVITA.' VERBATIM §4.2 (AS/axSpA/PsA): 'The recommended dose of AMGEVITA for patients with ankylosing spondylitis, axial spondyloarthritis without radiographic evidence of AS and for patients with psoriatic arthritis is 40 mg adalimumab administered every other week as a single dose via subcutaneous injection.' DOSE ESCALATION (RA monotherapy), VERBATIM: 'In monotherapy, some patients who experience a decrease in their response to AMGEVITA 40 mg every other week may benefit from an increase in dose to 40 mg adalimumab every week or 80 mg every other week.' RESPONSE REVIEW: 'Available data suggest that the clinical response is usually achieved within 12 weeks of treatment. Continued therapy should be reconsidered in a patient not responding within this time period.' DOSE INTERRUPTION: 'There may be a need for dose interruption, for instance before surgery or if a serious infection occurs. Available data suggest that re-introduction of adalimumab after discontinuation for 70 days or longer resulted in the same magnitudes of clinical response and similar safety profile as before dose interruption.' PLAQUE PSORIASIS (adults, UK SPC): 'an initial dose of 80 mg administered subcutaneously, followed by 40 mg subcutaneously given every other week starting one week after the initial dose' — continued therapy beyond 16 weeks should be carefully reconsidered in a non-responder. maxDose left empty deliberately: neither label states a dose ceiling with an explicit maximum cue; the every-week / 80 mg every-other-week option above is an escalation, not a stated maximum. SCOPE — OTHER INDICATIONS NOT COVERED BY THE UK FETCH: the eMC §4.2 text was truncated at the source-fetch limit part-way through the psoriasis paragraph, so the UK hidradenitis suppurativa, Crohn's disease, ulcerative colitis and uveitis regimens were NOT retrieved. From the US label in this bundle only (cross-check, may differ from UK): Crohn's disease adults 160 mg on Day 1 (given in one day or split over two consecutive days), 80 mg on Day 15, then 40 mg every other week starting on Day 29; ulcerative colitis adults the same, discontinuing in patients without evidence of clinical remission by eight weeks (Day 57); hidradenitis suppurativa adults Day 1 160 mg, Day 15 80 mg, Day 29 and subsequent doses 40 mg every week or 80 mg every other week. ADMINISTRATION: treatment should be initiated and supervised by specialist physicians experienced in the diagnosis and treatment of the indicated conditions; patients may self-inject after proper training in injection technique; patients should be given the Patient Reminder Card. PRESENTATION: the UK source product is AMGEVITA HCF (high-concentration formulation); the US source product is supplied as 40 mg/0.8 mL pen, prefilled syringe and institutional vial — presentations and strengths differ between products, so check the specific product before converting a dose to a volume.

Paediatric dose

Route: Subcutaneous injection
Frequency: Every other week
dosePerKg is null because the paediatric regimen is WEIGHT-BANDED with fixed milligram doses, not a per-kilogram calculation. The UK SPC §4.2 fetch was truncated before the paediatric sections, so the bands below come from the US label in this bundle (IDACIO) — US labelling may differ from UK. JUVENILE IDIOPATHIC ARTHRITIS, VERBATIM §2.2 (2 years of age and older): '10 kg (22 lbs) to less than 15 kg (33 lbs) 10 mg every other week; 15 kg (33 lbs) to less than 30 kg (66 lbs) 20 mg every other week; 30 kg (66 lbs) and greater 40 mg every other week.' PAEDIATRIC CROHN'S DISEASE, VERBATIM §2.3 (6 years of age and older): '17 kg (37 lbs) to less than 40 kg (88 lbs) — Day 1: 80 mg, Day 15: 40 mg, then 20 mg every other week starting on Day 29; 40 kg (88 lbs) and greater — Day 1: 160 mg (single dose or split over two consecutive days), Day 15: 80 mg, then 40 mg every other week starting on Day 29.' Route is subcutaneous injection. maxDose left empty deliberately: no explicit maximum-dose cue is given for the paediatric bands. concentration set to null deliberately: the two source products differ in presentation (the US product is 40 mg/0.8 mL; the UK source product is a high-concentration formulation whose strength per mL was not in the fetched section), so a single mg/mL figure cannot be taken from this bundle. UK paediatric psoriasis and uveitis regimens were NOT retrieved. Verify any under-18 dose against a children's formulary before administration. §4.8 (UK): 'In general, the adverse events in paediatric patients were similar in frequency and type to those seen in adult patients.'

Dose adjustments

Renal

Not stated — neither the fetched UK SPC sections nor the fetched US label sections contain a renal impairment dosing statement.

Hepatic

Not stated — neither the fetched UK SPC sections nor the fetched US label sections contain a hepatic impairment dosing statement.

Dose independently re-sourced from UK Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) via the eMC; US FDA prescribing information (openFDA / DailyMed) — cross-check; US labelling may differ from UK — clinician-reviewed. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.

Contraindications

  • Hypersensitivity to the active substance or to any of the excipients (UK SPC §4.3)
  • Active tuberculosis or other severe infections such as sepsis, and opportunistic infections (UK SPC §4.3)
  • Moderate to severe heart failure (NYHA class III/IV) (UK SPC §4.3)
  • Note: the US label in this bundle states 'CONTRAINDICATIONS None.' — the three entries above are from the UK SPC and are the ones that apply in UK practice

Side effects

  • Infections — nasopharyngitis, upper and lower respiratory tract infection, sinusitis, pneumonia (respiratory tract infections are VERY COMMON, >=1/10, in the UK SPC table)
  • Injection site reactions — erythema, itching, haemorrhage, pain or swelling (among the most commonly reported reactions; 20% of adalimumab-treated patients in the US placebo-controlled trials)
  • Headache and musculoskeletal pain (among the most commonly reported reactions)
  • Rash (most common adverse reactions >10% in the US label)
  • Serious and fatal or life-threatening infections, including sepsis, opportunistic infections and tuberculosis (reactivation and new onset, pulmonary and extra-pulmonary/disseminated)
  • Hepatitis B virus reactivation
  • Malignancies — including leukaemia, lymphoma and hepatosplenic T-cell lymphoma; malignancy incidence was greater in adalimumab-treated patients than controls in the US label
  • Central and peripheral demyelinating events (exacerbation or new onset)
  • Worsening or new-onset heart failure
  • Lupus, lupus-related conditions and Stevens-Johnson syndrome (rare)
  • Haematological reactions — rare reports of pancytopenia and aplastic anaemia; cytopenias
  • Anaphylaxis or serious hypersensitivity reactions

Monitoring

  • Tuberculosis: before initiation all patients must be evaluated for both active and inactive ('latent') tuberculosis infection, including detailed history of TB or possible previous exposure and previous/current immunosuppressive therapy; appropriate screening tests (tuberculin skin test and chest x-ray) should be performed in all patients (UK SPC §4.4)
  • Infection: patients must be monitored closely for infections, including tuberculosis, before, during and after treatment — 'Because the elimination of adalimumab may take up to four months, monitoring should be continued throughout this period' (UK SPC §4.4)
  • Hepatitis B: 'Monitor HBV carriers during and several months after therapy. If reactivation occurs, stop [treatment] and begin anti-viral therapy' (US label §5.4)
  • Patients who develop a new infection while on treatment should be monitored closely and undergo a complete diagnostic evaluation; discontinue if a new serious infection or sepsis develops (UK SPC §4.4)
  • Patients aged 65 and over: closely monitor for the development of infection or malignancy (US label §8.5)
  • Record the brand name and batch number of the administered product for traceability of biological medicinal products (UK SPC §4.4)
  • Note: no routine FBC/LFT/U&E schedule is specified in the fetched sections.

Clinical monograph

How it works

It binds and neutralises tumour necrosis factor alpha, preventing its interaction with cell-surface receptors and reducing the inflammatory cascade driving these diseases.

Prescribing in practice

  • Screen for and treat latent tuberculosis and check hepatitis B status before starting, as TNF inhibition can reactivate serious infections.
  • Avoid initiating during active serious infection and use with caution in heart failure and in patients with a history of demyelinating disease.
  • Live vaccines should be avoided during treatment; bring immunisations up to date beforehand where possible.

Monitoring

Monitor for signs of infection and tuberculosis reactivation throughout treatment, and review periodically for malignancy risk and disease response.

Counselling the patient

  • Report fever, persistent cough, weight loss or night sweats, which may indicate infection or tuberculosis.
  • Avoid live vaccines and tell other clinicians you are on a biologic; carry your alert card.
  • Store the injection in the fridge and follow training on self-injection technique and sharps disposal.

Evidence & guidelines

NICE technology appraisals support adalimumab across several inflammatory conditions after inadequate response to conventional therapy.

Reference: NICE TA715/TA130; BSR Biologic DMARD Guidelines 2021; Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).

Related

Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.