Skip to content
ClinCalc Pro
Menu
Antifibrinolytic Agent Pregnancy: SPC §4.6, verbatim (abridged only by omitting the animal-study cross-references): 'Women of childbearing potential have to use effective contraception during treatment (see sections 4.4 and 4.5).' 'Available data from published studies, case series and case reports with tranexamic acid use in pregnant women in the second and third trimester and at the time of delivery have not clarified whether there is a drug-associated risk of miscarriage or adverse maternal or foetal outcomes. There are cases of foetal structural abnormalities that resulted in death of the newborn following administration of tranexamic acid to the mother during conception or the first trimester of pregnancy; however, due to other confounding factors the risk of major birth defects with use of tranexamic acid during pregnancy is not clear. ... Tranexamic acid passes through the placenta. The concentration in cord blood after an intravenous injection of 10 mg/kg to pregnant women is about 30 mg/L, as high as in the maternal blood. There were 13 clinical studies that described foetal and/or neonatal functional issues such as low Apgar score, neonatal sepsis, cephalohematoma and 9 clinical studies that discussed alterations to growth including low birth weight and preterm birth at 22-36 weeks of gestation in foetuses and infants exposed to tranexamic acid in-utero. For decisions regarding the use of tranexamic acid during pregnancy, the potential risk of tranexamic acid administration on the foetus should always be considered along with the mother's clinical need for tranexamic acid; an accurate risk-benefit evaluation should drive the treating physician's decision.' BREAST-FEEDING (§4.6): 'Published literature reports the presence of tranexamic acid in human milk. There are limited data on the effects of tranexamic acid on the breast-fed child or the effects on milk production ... Due to limited data, no final assessment can be established on the use of tranexamic acid during breast-feeding.' FERTILITY (§4.6): 'There are no clinical data on the effects of tranexamic acid on fertility.'

Tranexamic Acid 1g IV

Brand names: Cyklokapron, Cyclo-F

Intravenous tranexamic acid is an antifibrinolytic given in orthopaedic trauma and major surgery to reduce blood loss and transfusion requirement.

Adult dose

Dose: Standard treatment of local fibrinolysis: 0.5 g (1 ampoule of 5 mL) to 1 g (1 ampoule of 10 mL or 2 ampoules of 5 mL) by slow intravenous injection or infusion (= 1 mL/minute), two to three times daily. Standard treatment of general fibrinolysis: 1 g by slow intravenous injection or infusion (= 1 mL/minute) every 6 to 8 hours, equivalent to 15 mg/kg body weight
Route: Intravenous only — slow intravenous injection or infusion at a maximum of 1 mL per minute; must not be given intramuscularly, intrathecally, epidurally, intraventricularly or intracerebrally
Frequency: Local fibrinolysis: two to three times daily. General fibrinolysis: every 6 to 8 hours
SCOPE — READ FIRST: the source is the IV Cyklokapron SPC, and what it doses is 'local fibrinolysis' and 'general fibrinolysis'. It contains NO trauma (CRASH-2) protocol, NO arthroplasty- or induction-specific regimen, and NO topical / intra-articular regimen — so the at-induction-plus-post-operative-infusion regimen and the topical intra-articular regimen shown elsewhere on this page are NOT supported by this source and must be re-sourced from the trial or guideline literature (their figures are not repeated here, because the point of this rebuild is to retire un-resourced dose numbers). On the contrary, this SPC restricts the drug to the intravenous route (see the route warning below). SPC §4.1 (indications) was not fetched, so the exact licensed indications behind 'local' and 'general' fibrinolysis cannot be quoted here. || VERBATIM SPC §4.2: 'Adults Unless otherwise prescribed, the following doses are recommended: 1. Standard treatment of local fibrinolysis: 0.5 g (1 ampoule of 5 mL) to 1 g (1 ampoule of 10 mL or 2 ampoules of 5 mL) tranexamic acid by slow intravenous injection or infusion (= 1 mL/minute) two to three times daily 2. Standard treatment of general fibrinolysis: 1 g (1 ampoule of 10 mL or 2 ampoules of 5 mL) tranexamic acid by slow intravenous injection or infusion (= 1 mL/minute) every 6 to 8 hours, equivalent to 15 mg/kg body weight (BW)' || ROUTE — SAFETY (SPC §4.2, verbatim, capitals in the original): 'The administration is strictly limited to slow intravenous injection or infusion (see section 6.6) of maximum 1 mL per minute. TRANEXAMIC ACID SHOULD ONLY BE ADMINISTERED INTRAVENOUSLY and should not be administered intrathecally or epidural (see sections 4.3 and 4.4). IN ORDER TO REDUCE THE RISK OF FATAL MEDICATION ERRORS DUE TO INCORRECT ROUTE OF ADMINISTRATION OF TRANEXAMIC ACID, IT IS STRONGLY RECOMMENDED TO LABEL THE SYRINGES CONTAINING TRANEXAMIC ACID.' SPC §4.4 adds: 'Tranexamic acid must not be administered by the intramuscular route' and 'Serious adverse reactions including fatal events have been reported when tranexamic acid was inadvertently administered intrathecally. These events have included severe back, gluteal and lower limb pain, myoclonus and generalised seizures, and cardiac arrhythmias.' || MAXIMUM: the SPC states NO absolute daily ceiling for the IV regimens above, so none is published — do not infer one by multiplying the 6- to 8-hourly dose. || ELDERLY (§4.2, verbatim): 'No reduction in dosage is necessary unless there is evidence of renal failure.'

Paediatric dose

Dose: 20 mg/kg/day
Route: Intravenous only — slow intravenous injection or infusion at a maximum of 1 mL per minute
Frequency: Total daily dose in children from 1 year — the SPC does not state how the 20 mg/kg/day is divided
Concentration: 100 mg/ml
SPC §4.2, verbatim: 'Paediatric population In children from 1 year, for current approved indications as described in section 4.1, the dosage is in the region of 20 mg/kg/day. However, data on efficacy, posology and safety for these indications are limited. The efficacy, posology and safety of tranexamic acid in children undergoing cardiac surgery have not been fully established. Currently available data are limited and are described in section 5.1.' SCOPE AND CAUTIONS: this is a TOTAL DAILY dose (mg/kg/day), NOT a per-dose figure — the SPC does not state how it is divided, does not state a paediatric maximum, and gives no dosing below 1 year. Section 4.1 (indications) was not retrieved in this bundle, so the 'current approved indications' this daily dose attaches to cannot be listed from the source. The 100 mg/mL concentration is the strength of the source product (Cyklokapron 100 mg/mL solution for injection/infusion). Verify any under-18 dose against a children's formulary before prescribing.

Dose adjustments

Renal

SPC §4.2, verbatim: 'For patients with renal impairment, the dosage of tranexamic acid should be reduced according to the serum creatinine level: Serum creatinine 120 to 249 micromol/L (1.35 to 2.82 mg/dL) — 10 mg/kg BW every 12 hours; 250 to 500 micromol/L (2.82 to 5.65 mg/dL) — 10 mg/kg BW every 24 hours; > 500 micromol/L (> 5.65 mg/dL) — 5 mg/kg BW every 24 hours.' (Note the SPC's mg/dL band boundaries are printed as 1.35 to 2.82 and 2.82 to 5.65 — they overlap at 2.82 in the source.) Elderly (§4.2, verbatim): 'No reduction in dosage is necessary unless there is evidence of renal failure.'

Hepatic

SPC §4.2, verbatim: 'Hepatic impairment No dose adjustment is required in patient with hepatic impairment.'

Dose independently re-sourced from UK Summary of Product Characteristics (SPC) via the eMC — clinician-reviewed. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.

Paediatric weight-based calculator

SPC §4.2, verbatim: 'Paediatric population In children from 1 year, for current approved indications as described in section 4.1, the dosage is in the region of 20 mg/kg/day. However, data on efficacy, posology and safety for these indications are limited. The efficacy, posology and safety of tranexamic acid in children undergoing cardiac surgery have not been fully established. Currently available data are limited and are described in section 5.1.' SCOPE AND CAUTIONS: this is a TOTAL DAILY dose (mg/kg/day), NOT a per-dose figure — the SPC does not state how it is divided, does not state a paediatric maximum, and gives no dosing below 1 year. Section 4.1 (indications) was not retrieved in this bundle, so the 'current approved indications' this daily dose attaches to cannot be listed from the source. The 100 mg/mL concentration is the strength of the source product (Cyklokapron 100 mg/mL solution for injection/infusion). Verify any under-18 dose against a children's formulary before prescribing.

Verify in a children's formulary

Contraindications

  • Hypersensitivity to the active substance or to any of the excipients listed in section 6.1 (SPC §4.3)
  • Acute venous or arterial thrombosis (SPC §4.3, see §4.4)
  • Fibrinolytic conditions following consumption coagulopathy except in those with predominant activation of the fibrinolytic system with acute severe bleeding (SPC §4.3, see §4.4)
  • History of convulsions (SPC §4.3)
  • Intrathecal, epidural, intraventricular injection and intracerebral application — risk of cerebral oedema and convulsions and death (SPC §4.3)

Side effects

  • Common (≥1/100 to <1/10), SPC §4.8: diarrhoea; vomiting; nausea
  • Uncommon (≥1/1,000 to <1/100): dermatitis allergic
  • Frequency not known: hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis
  • Frequency not known: convulsions, particularly in case of misuse (SPC §4.8, see §4.3 and §4.4)
  • Frequency not known: visual disturbances including impaired colour vision
  • Frequency not known: malaise with hypotension, with or without loss of consciousness — SPC §4.8: 'generally following a too fast intravenous injection, exceptionally after oral administration'
  • Frequency not known: arterial or venous thrombosis at any sites

Monitoring

  • Correct route — SPC §4.4: 'Care should be exercised to ensure the correct route of administration of Cyklokapron ... Syringes containing Cyklokapron should be clearly labelled with the intravenous route of administration.'
  • Infusion rate — SPC §4.4: 'Intravenous injections or infusions should be given very slowly (max. 1 mL per minute)'
  • Visual disturbances — SPC §4.4: 'Attention should be paid to possible visual disturbances including visual impairment, vision blurred, impaired colour vision and if necessary, the treatment should be discontinued. With continuous long-term use of tranexamic acid, regular ophthalmologic examinations (eye examinations including visual acuity, colour vision, fundus, visual field etc.) are indicated.'
  • Haematuria — SPC §4.4: 'In case of haematuria from the upper urinary tract, there is a risk for urinary obstruction at the lower levels of the tract ... Therefore, close monitoring is recommended for those patients with haematuria or risk of haematuria from the upper urinary tract.'
  • Thromboembolic risk — SPC §4.4: 'Before use of tranexamic acid, risk factors of thromboembolic disease should be considered.'
  • Seizures — SPC §4.4: 'Cases of convulsions have been reported in association with tranexamic acid treatment. In coronary artery bypass graft (CABG) surgery, most of these cases were reported following intravenous (IV.) injection of tranexamic acid in high doses. With the use of the recommended lower doses of tranexamic acid, the incidence of post-operative seizures was the same as that in untreated patients.'
  • This list may be incomplete — check the full SPC.

Clinical monograph

How it works

It competitively blocks the lysine-binding sites on plasminogen, preventing its conversion to plasmin and thereby stabilising formed clots against fibrinolysis.

Prescribing in practice

  • Give as early as possible after significant traumatic haemorrhage, as the survival benefit falls and may reverse if administration is delayed.
  • Caution in patients with a history of thromboembolic disease, and the intravenous dose should be reduced in renal impairment as it is renally cleared.
  • Rapid intravenous injection can cause hypotension, so administer by slow injection or infusion.

Monitoring

Monitor for ongoing bleeding, blood pressure during administration, and any features of venous or arterial thrombosis.

Counselling the patient

  • This medicine helps reduce bleeding after injury or surgery.
  • Tell the team about any previous blood clots, stroke or seizures.
  • Report new leg swelling, chest pain or breathlessness.

Evidence & guidelines

The CRASH-2 trial demonstrated reduced mortality from early tranexamic acid in trauma haemorrhage, supporting its routine use.

Reference: CRASH-2 Trial (Lancet 2010); NICE NG24 (Major Trauma); NICE TA392 (Arthroplasty); Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).

Related

Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.