Elosulfase alfa
Brand names: Vimizim
Elosulfase alfa is a recombinant human enzyme replacement therapy used to treat mucopolysaccharidosis type IVA (Morquio A syndrome).
Adult dose
Paediatric dose
Dose adjustments
Not stated. No renal-impairment dosing statement appears in any section retrieved from this US label (sections 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 8.1, 8.4, 8.5). Not from a UK SPC — UK product information may differ. Verify against the full prescribing information / UK SPC.
Not stated. No hepatic-impairment dosing statement appears in any section retrieved from this US label. Not from a UK SPC — UK product information may differ. Verify against the full prescribing information / UK SPC.
Dose independently re-sourced from US FDA prescribing information (openFDA / DailyMed) — cross-check; US labelling may differ from UK — clinician-reviewed. Always confirm against the product SmPC and your local formulary before prescribing.
THIS IS A PER-DOSE FIGURE, NOT A DAILY TOTAL — 2 mg/kg is given once a week, and it is the SAME dose as in adults; section 2.2 states one recommended dosage for all ages: 'The recommended dosage of VIMIZIM is 2 mg/kg administered intravenously over a minimum range of 3.5 to 4.5 hours (based on infusion volume) once every week.' AGE LIMITS (section 8.4, verbatim): 'Safety and effectiveness of VIMIZIM have been established in pediatric patients 5 years of age and older... Clinical trials with VIMIZIM were conducted in 176 patients (median age 12 years, range 5 to 57 years old) with the majority of patients in the pediatric age group (53% aged 5 to 11 years, 27% aged 12 to 17 years). Safety and effectiveness in pediatric patients below 5 years of age have not been established.' CONCENTRATION: 1 mg/mL is the UNDILUTED vial (section 3, verbatim: 'Injection: 5 mg/5 mL (1 mg/mL) as a clear to slightly opalescent and colorless to pale yellow solution in a single-dose vial'), so any volume the calculator produces is the volume of CONCENTRATE to withdraw from the vials — it is not the volume infused. That concentrate must then be added to a 100 mL bag (patient under 25 kg) or a 250 mL bag (25 kg or more) of 0.9% sodium chloride, having first removed an equal volume from the bag. Dose is calculated on ACTUAL body weight (section 2.4). NO MILLIGRAM CEILING is stated anywhere in this label, so no cap is applied; the only 'Maximum' figures are infusion RATES and they are carried in the route field, never as a dose ceiling. Verify any under-18 use against a children's formulary and against the UK SPC — this is US labelling and no UK SPC was in this bundle.
Contraindications
- US label section 4 CONTRAINDICATIONS states, verbatim: 'None.'
- Not a contraindication but the label's principal risk (section 5.1): life-threatening hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis have been reported — 'In premarketing clinical trials, 18 of 235 (7.7%) patients treated with VIMIZIM experienced signs and symptoms consistent with anaphylaxis'; administration must be supervised by a healthcare provider able to manage anaphylaxis, with access to cardiopulmonary resuscitation
- Not a contraindication but a reason to defer a dose (section 5.2): 'Patients with acute febrile or respiratory illness may be at higher risk of life-threatening complications from hypersensitivity reactions. Careful consideration should be given to the patient's clinical status prior to administration of VIMIZIM and consider delaying the VIMIZIM infusion.'
Side effects
- US section 6 verbatim: 'Most common adverse reactions (>=10%) are: pyrexia, vomiting, headache, nausea, abdominal pain, chills, and fatigue.'
- Hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis — 44 of 235 (18.7%) patients in clinical trials experienced hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis (section 5.1)
- Anaphylaxis: 26 anaphylactic reactions in 18 patients, with cough, erythema, throat tightness, urticaria, flushing, cyanosis, hypotension, rash, dyspnoea, chest discomfort and gastrointestinal symptoms (nausea, abdominal pain, retching, vomiting) with urticaria; onset as early as 30 minutes from the start of the infusion and up to three hours after it, and as late into treatment as the 47th infusion (section 5.1)
- Risk of acute respiratory complications (section 5.2) and spinal or cervical cord compression (section 5.3) are listed in section 6 as serious adverse reactions described elsewhere in the labelling
- This side-effect list may be incomplete — check the full SPC.
Monitoring
- Every infusion must be supervised by a healthcare provider knowledgeable in the management of hypersensitivity reactions including anaphylaxis, in a setting with medical monitoring and access to cardiopulmonary resuscitation (section 2.1)
- Observe throughout and after the infusion for hypersensitivity — anaphylaxis has occurred from 30 minutes after the start of an infusion up to three hours after it, and as late as the 47th infusion (section 5.1)
- Assess clinical status before every dose and consider delaying the infusion in acute febrile or respiratory illness (section 5.2)
- Watch for signs of spinal or cervical cord compression (section 5.3)
- Recalculate the dose against ACTUAL body weight at each visit — the number of vials and the infusion volume both depend on it, and the 25 kg threshold changes the bag size, the rate ceiling and the minimum infusion time (sections 2.4, 2.5)
- Inspect the diluted solution before use: discard if opaque particles are present or the solution is discoloured (section 2.4)
Clinical monograph
How it works
It supplies the deficient lysosomal enzyme N-acetylgalactosamine-6-sulfatase, enabling catabolism of the glycosaminoglycan keratan sulfate that otherwise accumulates in tissues.
Prescribing in practice
- Acute and potentially life-threatening hypersensitivity and anaphylactic reactions can occur during or after infusion, so it must be given under supervision with resuscitation facilities available and pre-treatment with antihistamine considered.
- Given by intravenous infusion under the care of a specialist metabolic centre experienced in managing lysosomal storage disorders.
- The infusion rate may need to be slowed, interrupted or the dose split if infusion-related reactions develop.
Monitoring
Monitor closely for hypersensitivity and infusion-related reactions throughout administration and for an appropriate period afterwards, with periodic clinical assessment of mobility and respiratory function.
Counselling the patient
- Report any rash, wheeze, swelling, fever or difficulty breathing during or after the infusion immediately.
- Treatment is long-term and requires regular hospital infusion appointments.
Evidence & guidelines
Approval was supported by a randomised placebo-controlled trial demonstrating improvement in endurance (six-minute walk test) in Morquio A patients, and use is guided by specialist metabolic protocols and the SPC.
Reference: NICE HST2; UK LSD National Service; BIMDG; SmPC; Drug verified in RxNorm (NLM); confirm dosing against the manufacturer SPC (eMC). Verify against your local formulary and current prescribing references before prescribing. The structured dose values shown have been reviewed by a clinician. Monograph status: clinician-reviewed (2026-07-04).
Related
Curated clinical cross-links plus same-class fallbacks.
- Weight-Based Levothyroxine Dose Calculator · Thyroid
- Cryoprecipitate Dose Calculator for Fibrinogen Replacement · Transfusion Medicine
- Free Water Deficit in Hypernatraemia · Fluid / Electrolytes
- Potassium Deficit Calculator · Electrolytes
- Indications for Renal Replacement Therapy (RRT) in AKI · Treatment Decision
- Sepsis Screening and Sepsis Six · UK Sepsis Trust; NICE NG51; Surviving Sepsis Campaign 2021
- Unintentional Weight Loss Workup · NICE NG12; BSG
- Chronic Fatigue Workup · NICE NG206; BMJ Best Practice
- Lymphadenopathy Workup · NICE NG12; BMJ Best Practice
- Pre-op Medical Clearance · NICE NG45; ESC 2022
- Secondary Hypertension Workup · NICE NG136; ESH 2023